Earth, Air, Fire and Water are the four main forces on earth. They are also the four main forces of the Zodiac. Of the 12 astrological signs, each of the four elements is associated with 3 signs of the Zodiac, which are always located exactly 120 degrees away from each other along the ecliptic. Most modern astrologers use the four classical elements extensively, (also known as triplicities) and indeed it is still viewed as a critical part of interpreting the astrological chart.

According to Astro Dienst, tradition sees the entire universe as consisting of the elements fire, air, water and earth. When we apply this system to personalities, the elements represent certain basic traits and give a certain “temperament”.

The four elements can be regarded as four basic principles of life. These can be applied to all sorts of things through the principles of similarity and analogy. C.G. Jung has opened the door to a modern understanding of these categories by developing a system of types, in which the elements correspond to four basic functions of the psyche. The emphasis or non-emphasis of the elements in the individual horoscope reveals fundamental aspects of the personality.

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius 

Fire has traditionally been associated with Spirit — the primal force of animation. Fire represents the desire for life, the will to be and become. It’s no mistake that a Fire sign — Aries — launches the cycle of the zodiac, as Fire signs often embody leadership, initiative and courage. People with a fiery emphasis tend to be impulsive, spontaneous, creative and enthusiastic. Ideally, Fire signs serve as an inspiration to others, stimulating creative action based on high ideals. (Daily Horoscope)

When negatively expressed, there can be an over-emphasis on self-expression without consideration for others’ feelings, resulting in selfishness, egotism or fanaticism. Fire can “burn itself out” when it lacks a practical outlet for its high-voltage energy. If someone is lacking in Fire, they may need to cultivate self-confidence, vitality, courage and passion.

Fire signs get overwhelmed easily. They feel things at 110% and their emotions snowball into an avalanche that they can’t process in time; like a slow burn before the wildfire.

How Fire Signs Deal With AngerThe Destroyer. Likely to scream and break things when they’re angry. Have no voice of reason; it’s like someone literally flipped a switch in them. They will attack you verbally and physically depending on how angry they are; they know where to hit to hurt you and aren’t afraid to go for the “below the belt” shot. Thrive off the other person’s pain and anger.

Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Air signifies the mind and communication. Individuals with an airy emphasis are the connectors of the zodiac, linking up diverse people with each other and with new ideas and information. Air signs are typically intellectual, objective, curious, socially-oriented, cooperative and communicative. Air signs bring the gift of detachment and perspective — the ability to step back from a situation and see it from different points of view, with neutrality. 

When negatively expressed, Air signs take impartiality to the extreme and become cold and aloof. There can also be the “all talk, no action” phenomenon — a lot of words without meaning or substance to back them up. When Air is lacking in a person’s chart, they are challenged to develop a greater awareness of other people’s perceptions and the ability to think logically.(Daily Horoscope)

Air signs get lonely easily. They don’t understand the need for codependency, because of their “if you want something done right, do it yourself” mentality, but one of their biggest fears is being alone; like a lone wolf who longs for a pack.

How Air Signs Deal With Anger: The Cold Calm. Won’t scream unless you push them really hard. Mostly will revert into the cold, calculated sort of calm. Their voice will change and become hard and distant. They will lay out their points and then allow you to respond. However, if someone screams at them, they will snap and scream right back.

Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Earth represents manifestation in the physical world. With their feet firmly planted on terra firma, Earth people are the builders and producers of the zodiac, possessing the gift of bringing dreams into reality. Earth signs provide the physical necessities of life and establish structures and systems to increase security and comfort. Pragmatism, endurance, ambition and sensuality are typical Earth-sign qualities. (Daily Horoscope)

In its negative expression, an unbalanced Earth emphasis can lead to materialism, greed, over-indulgence, stagnation and fear. The Earth signs get in trouble when they forget that there is more to life than the five senses, and that the inner world is as “real” as the physical plane. People lacking in Earth may have to work hard at bringing their ideas into form and dealing with the everyday tasks of life.

Earth signs get swept up easily. they are hedonists at heart and often let their desires/work/ambitions take priority over everything and everyone else; like a whirlwind romance that never ends.

How Earth Signs Deal With Anger:  The “Passive Aggressive One.Won’t confront the problem until someone else brings it up to them. Will be distant and cold but will say “I’m fine” every time they’re asked what’s wrong. So damn stubborn. When the person they’re angry at finally snaps and wants to know why they’re being so passive aggressive, the earth sign will explode; shouting and listing the things the other person did wrong. Does not budge in an argument under any circumstances.

Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water, representing the realm of emotions, is perhaps the least understood element. Watery individuals are the feelers of the zodiac — a role that is generally not held in high regard in our contemporary culture. Extremely sensitive to their environment, Water signs are in touch not only with their own deep feelings, but with everyone else’s as well, and may even be psychic. Typical Water signs are intuitive, nurturing, compassionate, resourceful, creative and imaginative.The down side to this sensitivity is the potential for absorbing other people’s emotions to the point of feeling overwhelmed — this is why Water people need time alone to recharge. Excess Water in a person’s chart can also lead to emotional over-reaction, paranoia and escapism. People lacking in Water may have a hard time accessing their emotions, and be insensitive to others’ feelings. They are learning to develop compassion and intuition.  (Daily Horoscope)

Water signs get defensive easily. They have an intuitive streak that often overpowers their reasoning and causes them to snap when they misinterpret a harmless statement; like a car alarm that blares after a gust of wind

How Water Signs Deal With Anger: The Angry Crier. Only cry in anger and frustration during a fight – when a water sign starts crying during an argument, you know they’re truly angry. A water sign starting to cry during a fight will usually be accompanied by insults and screaming, and if they start crying and then suddenly stop, run; they’ve lost all emotion to fix the problem and will turn spiteful.

Founder of Words of Women

Leave a Reply


The Book of Moods
How I Turned My Worst Emotions Into My Best Life

Not in the US?
Other countries